6th November 2017

South Devon College hosted its annual Further Education Student Awards Ceremony on Friday 3rd November, welcoming students from across the South West to celebrate their accomplishments with family, friends and staff members. Approximately 800 people attended the event at the Riviera International Centre in Torquay, marking another year of exceptional success for the College and its learners.

Over 200 students were honoured at the event, with awards recognising aspiration, inclusion, innovation, support and progress. The ceremony was an excellent opportunity to recognise not only academic success but also personal growth and development, with many students having shown great determination to achieve and succeed, who have now progressed into employment or further training.

A variety of key stakeholders, Governors and Councillors from throughout the local area attended the ceremony. Ash Merchant, Director of Education at Fujitsu UK delivered a poignant and uplifting keynote speech about his personal and professional journey and the positive impact hi-tech developments will continue to have within the education sector, with South Devon College at the forefront.


Amongst the winners was Olivia Morrison, Level 3 Marine Technologies student, who won the prestigious Paul Haigney Award, as well as the ‘Award for Aspiration. The Paul Haigney Award is provided by the Friends of South Devon College, a charitable trust established to remove barriers to learning for disadvantaged students. The Award itself acknowledges triumph over adversity in the face of challenging personal circumstances. Olivia performed admirably last academic year, making exceptional progress on her Marine Technologies course and fully embracing the opportunities presented through an international exchange visit, completing a week’s work experience in France and overcoming many adversities during her studies.

Stephen Criddle, Principal of South Devon College said, “The Further Education Student Awards Ceremony is always a high-point of the year at the College, where we can congratulate students who have achieved local, regional and even national success. Whilst all students who pass their chosen course have good reason to celebrate, we believe it is important to acknowledge those who have done exceptionally well, going above and beyond the expectations of their qualification. I know colleagues and governors will join me in wishing all our students a bright future, as we eagerly await seeing what they will go on to achieve next.”

The Further Education Student Awards were followed by the Staff Awards Ceremony, where the College recognised around 100 members of staff who had achieved various qualifications, as well as those who had been nominated by students for their exceptional teaching support. The annual awards are always well received, acting as evidence of the entire College’s commitment to professional development and high quality teaching.

If the success of the 2016/17 students has inspired you to see what you can achieve with the College, you can find out more information at www.southdevon.ac.uk, or contact 08000 380 123. Alternatively, come along to our next Open Evening on Thursday 16th November at our Vantage Point Campus, Long Road, Paignton, TQ4 7EJ 5pm-8pm.


Full list of award winners:



Liam Hudson

Connor Nicholls

Serena Gardner

Anita Morris

Thomas Dutton

Kai MacPherson

Jon Taylor

Karyn Jeavons

Reece Davis

Jake Beardon-Brown

Eren Cramer

Hades Lloyd

Jacob Westley

Joel Stoddard – Turvey

Olivia Morrison

Sara Bruen

Magdalena Najda

Kaine Davie

Scott Bickel

Shania Walshe

Bryn Manning

Sophie Wells

Niamh Aldredge

Lucy Darke

Samuel Parker

Lauren Edwards

Melody Burgess

Charlene Kehoe

Chantelle Peirson

Ross Copson

Jessica Blagden

Lucy Branton

Miah Woodhouse

Aaron Jeavons

Olivia Harrison

Immi Stelfox



Kyle Grant-Wainwright

Tom O’Donoghue

Henrietta Field

Oliver White

Jayden Neal

Ben Perkins

Joel Pearson

Jack Hawketts

Paul Matthews

Joshua Lister

Alex Hatch

Fiona Dodd

Laura Hayward

Sam Stanton

Sam Steer

Charlotte Milner

Kennady Dobbs-Bradford

Thomas Blinco

Ashley Farrell

Jessica Ramsdall

Beck Clark



Otus Rawlinson

Angelika Kaczkowska

Malina Ciszewska

Tyler Godfrey

Reece Kite

Tom Palmer

Alfie Reddy

Thomas Rainey

Dominic Lamar

Charles Archer

Stacey Marle

Anna Brinham

Anya Botterill

Kiera Newman

Mobin Jacob

Katie Dickinson

Brandon Cope

Callum Miles

Cameron Allen

Charlie Post

Elliot Kelly

Gavin Blacoe

Jacob Reeves

James Oldham

Liam Lawford

Louis Bovet-White

Maryam Nasser

Olivia Harrison



Curtis Lye

Amanda Thorne

Lisa Broster

Darryl Cude

Daniel Hill

Jack Vaughan

Samuel Bamforth

James Bradford

Keana Davy

David Burdett

David Keen

Kieran Neno

Simon Martin-Pilkington

Joanna Brailsford-Dunn

Shannon Jonas

Sophie Loveridge

Lara Knapman

Rachael Lilley

Megan Alldridge

Ross Stapleton

George Blackburn

George Shinner

James Tough

Liana Reynolds

Sophie Hodson

Rhea Winsor

Dayna Kerr

Shannon Jonas

Gaevyn Allwood

Britney Coles

Terri-Jane Paul

Georgia Prout

Katie Hanlon

Ben Tocknell

Christopher Rose

Kyra Oldham

Molly Clark

Oscar Thomas


Sebastian Gibson

Letitia Wall

Sally-Anne Orton

Dean Crispin

Asa Barnett

Nick Moody

Lewis Ponsford

Jennifer Newrick

Katie Brunt

Ryan Booker

Jake MacMenamin

Joshua Gooden

Michelle Harrison

Simon Wragg

Andrea Ellis

Neave Hall

Ryan Wheeler

Will Black

Darion Clark

Kieran van Hagen

Freya Burne

Michaela Scott

Owen Gribble

Filter by Month

Filter by Category

Help & advice

Choosing to be part of South Devon College doesn’t have to be a daunting process. Let us help you make the right choice with our range of support, advice and guidance.